Cakewaffle Socks

I am getting close to finishing the first sock in the Cakewaffle socks I’ve been working on. This pattern is available on Ravelry, and was designed by Wendy Moreland as a knit-along for the SSSK group (also on Ravelry).

Cakewaffles, for those who haven’t been introduced to this delicacy, are what happens when you bake cake batter in a waffle iron. For my socks, I am making a chocolate cakewaffle, with a creamy icing. I am using Lana Grossa Meilenweit 100 Tweed sock yarn for both colours.

I am pleased with how this sock is going. It took me three tries to get the first part of the cuff right, I kept messing up the bobbles somehow. Eventually I had to use stitch markers between every set of pattern repeats to keep everything straight. Oh, and it helped to not be watching something riveting on TV while I was doing it.

sock-1-in-progress-2

The cuff is designed to be folded over when worn, so the pattern becomes clear only when viewed from the right side.

sock-1-in-progress-4

The body of the sock (excepting the sole) is knit in a waffle pattern. It’s a pretty simple pattern over 5 rows.

sock-1-in-progress-6

I had to overexpose the picture a little to show the stitch pattern better.

This is the first time I’ve knit a sock with a short-row heel. The other socks I’ve knit to date have all used a heel flap, from which stitches are picked up to turn the heel and create an instep gusset. Short-row heels are knit by working back and forth on half the stitches, knitting (or purling on the wrong side) one less stitch on each row (the rest of the stitches are left unworked on the remaining two needles). When you get to the narrowest point you reverse the process, including one more stitch on each row as you go until you are back to working all of the stitches. The result is a heel that looks more like that in a commercially made sock.

short-row-heel-9

There is a trick in knitting short rows that involves wrapping the yarn around the last stitch to prevent holes from forming. Then when working the increasing rows, you pick up the wrap and knit (or purl) it together with the stitch on the needle. This was the part I found tricky. I’m sure I ended up twisting those stitches something awful in the process of picking up the wrap loops and putting them on the needle. For the next sock I will do a little more reading up on this process before tackling it. However, even this first one doesn’t look too bad when viewed from a little more distance.

short-row-heel-6

The next step is to continue knitting the foot of the sock, and then working the toe, which will also be in the contrasting cream colour. My only concern now is whether or not it will fit. I did the small size, but I’m not too sure about my gauge (there’s that “g” word again). I did do a swatch, honest.

4 thoughts on “Cakewaffle Socks

  1. YAY! I get to be the first comment!

    The heel looks fine, and so do the you know whats! I love your picture of the cakewaffle stitch, it’s the clearest so far.

    Can’t wait to see it done and on some feets!

  2. Thanks!

    The you-know-whats turned out pretty well, I thought, heh. The dark yarn doesn’t show the pattern very well in photos, but it looks nice in person.

    Stay tuned for the feets.

Leave a Reply

