On the Road to Minnesota, Part 3

I’ve finally started to stitch the feather pattern onto the actual quilt. I’m using the Golden Threads quilting paper, with my feather pattern traced on using regular pencil. Here is the pattern pinned in place on the sashing strip.

pattern pinned on quilt

Here it is stitched, with the paper still in place.

stitched feather with paper pattern

The paper is removed to reveal the stitched feather pattern.

stitched feather with paper removed

And here is a close-up of the stitching. I’m pretty happy with how it turned out.

close-up of feather

I’ve now finished stitching two of the sashing strips, and have 5 more to go. Then I have to design a modified version of the feather for the larger outer sashing strips.

Pattern: On the Road to Minnesota, by Border Creek Station

See also:

On the Road to Minnesota

On the Road to Minnesota, Part 2.

2 thoughts on “On the Road to Minnesota, Part 3

  1. quilting amazes me – I know I would nver have the patience for it with all the different steps – even in knitting if it has to be pieced together – I don’t do it – ;)

    It is looking so good!

  2. Thanks, Rho!

    I love doing it, but it does seem to take me forever sometimes. I know what you mean about knitting – sewing pieces together is my least favourite part of a project.

Leave a Reply

