Baby Cap, and Rhinebeck!

I finished the baby cap on the train to Rhinebeck. The train that was supposed to take about 11 hours to get from Toronto to Rhinecliff took 14 hours instead, thanks to the engine breaking down somewhere west of Albany. It made a long trip even longer, but on the other hand, it did let me finish the baby cap.

Sweet Baby Cap and Baby Socks

The pattern is Norwegian Sweet Baby Cap, by Gro, and it can be found for free on her blog. The socks in the photo are Better Than Booties Baby Socks, by Ann Budd. That pattern is also available for free, from Interweave Press. For both patterns I used Austermann Step sock yarn.

Of course, the other big crafting thing was my trip to the New York State Sheep and Wool Festival at Rhinebeck, NY. It was my first time going, and it was simply amazing and overwhelming all at once.

I took the train down from Toronto on Friday. As mentioned above, it took a little longer than usual. It seems the train ran over some debris on the tracks, which damaged the engine. We had to wait while the damage was assessed, a new engine was sent out and hooked up, and we were towed into Albany. There, the new engine was swapped out with the old one, and we were once more on our way. All in all it was a 3 hour delay, leaving a train full of fairly tired and unhappy people. I was mostly disappointed to miss out on a group dinner with a number of friends from the Completely Pointless and Arbitrary Group on Ravelry. At least I was able to meet most of them later, at the hotel, where we enjoyed cupcakes and beer compliments of one of our group, Zuzusunshine.

The show was huge. I never did get to all of the vendors. I spent a lot of time around the booth of the Tsarina of Tsocks and Holiday Yarns – home of the most amazing sock knitting kits you’ll ever find. I bought the Nine Tailors kit, and can hardly wait to start on it. I also bought a drop spindle, made by Jesh. Isn’t it pretty?

Rhinebeck-purchases-7 Rhinebeck-purchases-8

I haven’t learned how to spin yet, but hope to soon. I bought some nice wool roving to that end. In fact, I bought quite a few things. See:

Rhinebeck-purchases-4

Pretty yarn, pretty roving, Franklin Habit’s new book of knitting cartoons, and a show t-shirt. My friend and hotel roomie, Pixisis, gave me this lovely sheepy print, by artist Conni Tögel. Thanks again, Pixisis!

Rhinebeck-purchases-005

I think I’ll wait for a second post to show some photos of the actual show, and of the great people I met up with. This one is getting a little long.

Leave a Reply

