On The Road to Minnesota, Part 4

More feathers.

I finally finished quilting the feathers in the sashing between the blocks on this mystery quilt, On The Road to Minnesota, from Border Creek Station.

feathers-4-1

Now I have to design a feather quilting pattern to fit into the larger sashing space around the outsides of the blocks. The space is a combination of two sashing strips.

big-feathers-1

It’s an odd space, but it’s large and wants to be filled with something interesting. I have come up with two ideas. One is quite a bit more than the other. Here they are:

big-feathers-3

big-feathers-4

I haven’t decided yet which one I will use. The top one is my favourite. But on the other hand, there are ten of these sashing areas to quilt. That means making ten tracings of the pattern, and then stitching it ten times on the quilt. I think I might make a test sample of each one to see just how hard it will be to stitch them. That should help me decide. I am leaning towards the top one – I like how it fills the space.

see also these previous posts:

On the Road to Minnesota

On the Road to Minnesota, Part 2

On the Road to Minnesota, Part 3

7 thoughts on “On The Road to Minnesota, Part 4

  1. Wow!!!! Those new designs are gorgeous. It’s no wonder I never do anything this complicated. I never take the time to plan ahead. Great job!!!

  2. Pingback: One Down, Nine To Go « Completely Blocked

  3. Pingback: Current Projects - Jan. ‘09 « Completely Blocked

  4. Pingback: Finished Feathers! « Completely Blocked

Leave a Reply

