Alpaca Neck Scarf

One of the drawbacks of knitting gifts is that you don’t want to blog about them lest the recipient reads the blog and the surprise is spoiled. This is one example of that – this scarf was completed back in October, but I didn’t want to blog about it until I gave it to my friend. I’ve done that now, so I guess I can blog away.

The pattern is Herringbone Neck Warmer, by Craig Rosenfeld. It is available for free from Loop Knits. The pattern called for a worsted weight yarn, but the alpaca yarn I had was dk weight, so I cast on 40 stitches instead of 30, and dropped down to 6 mm needles from 8 mm. This gave me a nice drape without being too open.

Here is the finished scarf:

neck-scarf-2

I love the herringbone pattern stitch. You can see it better in this close-up photo.

in-progress-3

I made an alteration to the button hole band at the end, too. First, I had to pick up more stitches (20) because I had started with more in the main part of the scarf. Then I needed bigger buttonholes, because I bought big buttons. I used this method of one-row buttonholes, over 3 stitches. It worked out perfectly.

neck-scarf-8

The yarn I used was 100% alpaca in a natural black (it’s undyed – the natural colour of the animal). It is from Green Acres Alpaca Farm – I bought it from them at the Creativ Festival one spring. The buttons were purchased at Mary’s Yarns in Unionville, ON, where they have a large selection of great buttons.

This was a fun, easy knit (once I figured out how the stitch was done). It went by fast, and was good travel knitting. Plus, using the larger needles gave me a break from the tiny ones used for sock knitting. It’s always nice to have a variety of needle sizes on the go.

I also like how the scarf fits. It’s just the right size for under a coat, and is dressy enough for a night out. I have a fair amount of this yarn left, so I might just knit another one, but for myself.

2 thoughts on “Alpaca Neck Scarf

Leave a Reply

