Current Projects – Jan. ’09

I’m currently in the middle of a few things, so I don’t have finished items to post about. In the meantime, I thought I’d post an overview of my current active works-in-progress.

In knitting, I am working on two things right now. The first is the Wharf ‘n’ Weave top that I started last February, and then set aside for a long while. I’ve now finished the back, and half of the right front.

Finished-back-003

For the front, I decided that I needed to make a chart to keep track of where I am in the stitch pattern as I do the decreases for the arm and neck openings. Here’s a picture of the chart I drew up. It’s just a simple chart on graph paper, but it helps me know where to start the slip stitches, etc., of the stitch pattern. I had a lot of trouble with this when I was working on the back.

chart-for-right-front-004

Also in knitting, I’ve started a new sock. This one is the Baroque sock from the Fall 2008 issue of knitty.com, in a blue sock yarn from Holiday Yarns. I’ve just started it. I’m very happy with how the yarn shows off the stitch detail. This pattern isn’t really difficult, but it does require paying attention.

first-sock---cuff-003

I’m also reading the classic mystery novel The Nine Tailors, by Dorothy L. Sayers, before I go ahead and start working on The Nine Tailors sock kit from The Tsarina of Tsocks that I bought in Rhinebeck. I figured that if I was going to be knitting based on the bell ringing in the book, I might as well understand the significance of it. So far, it’s a great read.

I think I need to start one more knitting project, something very simple that I can work on when I am tired, or out somewhere. Both of these other ones require either charts or multiple balls of yarn – neither of which lend themselves to travel.

In quilting, I am still working on the large feather stitching on my On the Road to Minnesota mystery quilt. I’m still at 3 finished out of 10.

I’ve also been slowly adding embroidery to Space Girl, the quilt that I started in a class in Houston in 2007.

Space Girl

I just need to add a little more detail to her space suit. Then I can start writing her story on the background, before layering and quilting her. She has been my handwork during my quilting group meetings for the last little while. Slowly but surely.

Of course, I have a lot of other UFOs, but these are the active projects at the moment. Also on the horizon are more ATCs. Plus a reorganization of the yarn stash. That should keep me busy for a while.

2 thoughts on “Current Projects – Jan. ’09

Leave a Reply

