One Year Along!

Today is the first anniversary of this blog! I can’t believe how quickly time flies by. I know it’s a cliche to say that, but it doesn’t make it any less true.

One of my primary reasons for starting this blog was to give myself a little extra incentive to spend more time on my crafts. I think that was successful – I do find I try to get more done so I have something to blog about. Another reason was to become a part of the online community in a way that was new to me. I think that has also been a success. I have enjoyed sharing my projects and thoughts with my invisible (or sometimes visible) readers. I thank you all for reading.

Since I didn’t do a project round-up at the beginning of the New Year, this seems like a good opportunity to take a look at what I completed since February 6, 2008.

In knitting, I completed quite a few things (for me):

(links to patterns are at the end of the post)

Black & Grey socks, in which I learned to spit-splice wool.

black and grey socks

Chocolate Cakewaffle socks, in which I learned short-row heels.

first-sock-6

Herringbone neck scarf, in alpaca, in which I learned the herringbone stitch.

neck-scarf-2

Bamboo Seduction Socks, my first time knitting with bamboo yarn.

seduction-socks-023

Baby socks and cap, for our neighbours’ first baby.

Baby-cap-4

And finally, two pairs of Chocolate Sundae Fair Isle Fingerless Mitts. It’s been a very long time since I knit Fair Isle, and it was fun (once I sorted out the gauge issue).

finished-mitts-pair-2-2

I also made my first trip to the NYS Sheep and Wool Festival in Rhinebeck, NY, and had a great time meeting a whole lot of friends from Ravelry.

In quilting, I completed my first Artist Trading Cards.

fish ATC tree ATC

And some ATCs with snowflakes.

snowflake-ATCs-062

And, I’m going to cheat a tiny bit and mention my On the Road to Minnesota mystery quilt, because all that’s left is to stitch down the back of the binding, and I don’t think anyone will hold that against me. This was my first time quilting free-motion feathers, and I am very pleased with the results.

big-feathers-finished-036

I spent a lot of time this year working on my free-motion quilting skills, and I believe that it paid off. I am a lot more comfortable with my machine and my quilting. And I’ve fallen in love with Golden Threads.

All-in-all a pretty good year of crafting! I look forward to another, and hope that you will join me.

Knitting patterns:

Basic Sock Recipe, by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, Knitting Rules

Cakewaffle Socks, by Wendy Moreland, available on Ravelry

Herringbone scarf, by Craig Rosenfeld, Loop

Seduction Socks, by Ann Budd, Interweave Knits, Spring 2007

Better-than-Booties Baby Socks, by Ann Budd, Interweave Knits, Summer 2005

Norwegian Sweet Baby Cap, by Gro, from her blog.

Fresco Fair Isle Mitts, by Pam Allen, Interweave Knits, Fall 2008

Quilting patterns:

ATCs are all original designs.

On the Road to Minnesota, by Border Creek Station.

2 thoughts on “One Year Along!

Leave a Reply

