Fabric from Friends

Among the lovely things I was given by friends while recovering from my recent surgery was a gift basket stuffed full of all sorts of goodies, including this lovely assortment of fabric. It was a gift from the members of my quilting circle – five wonderful women that I am honoured to have as friends.

get-well-fabric-003

These are half metre lengths of six coordinating fabrics, most of them from the Zen line by Makower Fabrics UK. They are beautiful, and I can’t wait to decide what to make with them.

They’ve also been giving me handfuls and ziploc-baggie-fuls of  selvage edges from various fabrics. This is because I became enthralled with the original and cool projects I was seeing on the Selvage Blog. I’ve amassed quite a nice collection of them, and decided today that I should iron them and organize them a little bit. So that’s just what I did.

I started with this:

selvedges-004

which soon became this:

selvedges-006

and which finally ended up as this:

selvedges-020

All nice and tidy and ready to use. Now I just need to come up with a project for them.

It looks like I will have a lot to keep me sewing this summer.

Leave a Reply

