Retro Ribbed Socks

These socks were my travelling project for most of last summer and into the fall. They were with me on buses, in waiting rooms, on airplanes, trains, and in hotels. This pattern was very easy to memorize – just 4 rows repeated over and over – perfect for on-the-go knitting.

The pattern is Retro Rib Socks, by Evelyn A. Clark. It’s in the Interweave book Favorite Socks. I chose it for this yarn because I wanted something with some ribbing. I wasn’t sure how much stretch or memory the yarn would have, so I hoped that the ribbing would keep the socks from ending up saggy in the leg. This is a cuff-down pattern with a standard heel.

The yarn is TOFUtsies, from South West Trading Company. It’s an interesting blend of fibres including wool, soy silk, cotton and chitin (which is made from shrimp and crab shells). It is a soft fibre, and pretty easy to work with. I do have some mixed feelings about the odd colour pooling, especially with how different it is between the two socks. It isn’t really self-striping, although it almost stripes in the sock on the left (which was the second sock of the pair). I think my tension was a little looser on the second sock. One problem I had was that I couldn’t pull a yarn end from the centre of the ball, and had to work from the outside end. When I tried to pull out a strand from the centre, almost half the yarn threatened to come with it, so I gave up trying.

both-socks-010

They do fit very well, and the ribbing works just as I hoped it would.

both-socks-002

Here is a close-up view of the sock leg, which shows the rib pattern fairly well. I really like this pattern, and I think I’ll make it again in a more solid yarn (or something that is truly self-striping), which would let the rib pattern stand out more.

Retro-Rib-socks-006

I haven’t worn them yet – by the time they were finished it was getting into cold fall weather, and I really lean towards wool when it gets cold. I think they’ll be great once spring and summer arrive.

The details:

Pattern: Retro Rib Socks, by Evelyn A. Clark. From the Interweave book Favorite Socks (and Interweave Knits Magazine, Winter 2004). (Ravelry link) in the small (women’s) size.

Yarn: TOFUtsies, from South West Trading Company in colour 736

Needles: 2.75 mm double pointed

Started: June 5/09  Finished: Oct. 28/09

Leave a Reply

