More Socks, and the Tour de Fleece

I finished my most recent pair of socks a few weeks ago, and I’m very happy with them. I used the Retro Rib Socks pattern again, but this time with a self-striping yarn from Opal. I think they turned out very nice.

finished-socks-016

The details:

Pattern: Retro Rib Socks, by Evelyn A. Clark. From the Interweave book Favorite Socks (and Interweave Knits Magazine, Winter 2004). (Ravelry link) in the small (women’s) size. No modifications.

Yarn: Opal Feelings, from Zwerger Garn in colour 1704

Needles: 2.75 mm double pointed

Started: Jan. 23/10  Finished: May 31/10

In other news, I’ve joined a team or three in the Tour de Fleece that’s being hosted on Ravelry. This is a spinning challenge that follows the schedule of the Tour de France, which means that it started yesterday and ends on July 25th. I have pretty modest goals for this challenge, the main one being to spin most of the days of the Tour, and improve my consistency. Well, the real main one is to have some fun. I am spinning on a spindle and have about 300 grams of wool fibre to work through. I don’t expect to get through it all.

In preparation for this event, I did finish spinning and plying the fibre that I’d already been working on. Here are the results:

The Woods in Fall: shown first as a wound ball of single ply, and then as a skein of two ply.

Riverstone-single-005a

Riverstone-2-ply-010

Cara: also show first as single ply, and then as a two ply skein.

Cranberry-single-ply-006 Cara-(Cranberry)-2-ply-008

Both of these were spun from prepared wool top from Shadeyside Farm that I bought at the New York Sheep and Wool Festival in Rhinebeck in 2008. The colours were called Riverstone and Cranberry respectively. They are the second and third yarns I’ve spun, and I’ve been happy with my progress. Cara is noticeably more uniform than Woods in Fall is. It’s also thinner. The same amount of fibre yielded 48.5 m of Woods in Fall, and 66.4 m of Cara.

As for the names I’ve given them, the first was named for its colour. The second was named for Cara, the character in the tv series Legend of the Seeker. I did most of the spinning of this yarn while watching recorded episodes of the show on the DVR. Cara is a warrior, and a Mord Sith, who has pledged to protect the Seeker. She is an interesting character, and she wears red leather, which is why this red yarn is named for her.

I’ll post more on the Tour de Fleece in the coming days.

Leave a Reply

