Busy, Busy, Busy

It’s hard to believe that I haven’t posted anything in so long. I have been busy, but not so much on the knitting and spinning and quilting front. The tendonitis I got in my right elbow during the Tour de Fleece challenge lingers on, and has slowed things down a lot.

However, I have not been completely idle. I went on two crafty trips. In October I took the train down to Rhinebeck to go to the New York State Sheep and Wool Festival and meet up with friends from Ravelry. I had a great time, but didn’t take many pictures at all. I did buy a few things:

Rhinebeck-2010_0001

That’s some sock yarn from Holiday Yarns, Blue Moon Fiber Arts and The Sanguine Gryphon. And there is some roving for spinning: BFL from Holiday Yarns, Alpaca from Burgis Brook Alpacas, and some merino/tencel blend from Fiber Optic Yarns. I also bought a new Bosworth spindle from Journey Wheel.

In early November I went to Houston to the International Quilt Festival with my quilt group friends. We were there for six days. I took classes in beading, stamp carving, using Transfer Artist Paper and a lecture on Journaling for inspiration. I saw a huge number of wonderful and amazing quilts. And I shopped ‘til I dropped (almost literally – man, that George R. Brown Convention Center is huge!). This is but a small section of the vendor mall:

Quilt-Festival-2010_0002

Now I am keeping busy with an ongoing class in Art Quilts that I’m taking through my local quilt shop, Quilter’s Cupboard in Uxbridge, Ontario. We are having a great time learning all sorts of techniques and principles and creating samples and practice pieces. I plan to write about what we are doing, and maybe in between I’ll catch up with some projects that I finished but haven’t written about yet.

Leave a Reply

