Tour de Fleece 2011: The Slacker Version

I did the Tour de Fleece last year for the first time, and spun pretty much every day. In the process I managed to give myself a delightful case of tendonitis in my right elbow that lasted well into the winter (much credit for that goes to endless rounds of snow shovelling). I hadn’t touched my spindles since then. I was going to ignore the Tour this year, but then I gave in to peer pressure from my fellow spinners in the Completely Pointless and Arbitrary Group group on Ravelry and joined Team Bacon Cakewaffle once again.

My primary goals this time around are to get back into spinning, and not injure myself. Also, to eat bacon. So far I have succeeded on all points. I’m not spinning every day, but try to pick up a spindle and do a bit here and there when I can.

This photo shows my progress after my first day of spinning, which was technically Day 3 of the Tour. On the left is some hand-dyed blue Polwarth from Sheep and Spindle , on a small Bosworth spindle. On the right is a purple 50/50 Superwash Merino and Tencel blend from Fiber Optic Yarns that I bought last year at the Sheep and Wool Festival in Rhinebeck. The colour is called Ruby Slippers BATIK. It’s on a Jesh spindle.

Blue Polwarth and Purple Merino/tencel blend

Today is Day 16 of the Tour. Since the above photo was taken, I’ve done a little spinning here and there – at home, at the local Timmie’s, and even at my quilt group meeting (they are very tolerant of my lack of quilting in their presence). Here is how far I’ve gotten:

Blue Polwarth, TDF day 16

I have 115 grams of this fibre. I think I’ve used up about a quarter of it. So far it’s been a dream to spin. I am planning a 2-ply that I suspect will end up as a lace weight, or a light fingering weight. I hope it ends up being enough for a small shawl.

One thought on “Tour de Fleece 2011: The Slacker Version

  1. Pingback: Where Has the Summer Gone? « Completely Blocked

Leave a Reply

