Yes, I’m Still Knitting

I haven’t written a post about knitting in ages. Or possibly even in yonks. This doesn’t mean I haven’t been doing any. In fact, I think I spend more hours on knitting than on quilting, because I spend hours in front of the tv (something not unrelated to both fibro fatigue, and the fact that I rather like watching tv). When I’m in front of the tv, I like to knit. It keeps my hands busy, and lets me feel like I’m doing something productive while simultaneously being a couch potato.

Here are a few knitting projects that I’ve recently finished:

A pair of socks:

Seduction socks

I love this pattern, it’s the second time I’ve made it. This time I used this pretty colour of wool/nylon blend fingering weight sock yarn from Holiday Yarns. The pattern is slightly lacy, and very easy to memorize. I think they’ll be great in summer.

Pattern: Seduction Socks by Ann Budd, from Interweave Knits.

Yarn: Flocksock Sock Yarn from Holiday Yarns in colour Articado

Needle size: 2.75 mm

Started on July 6/11, finished on December 9/11.

A pair of fingerless mittens:

Reading Mitts

These are made from yarn I bought in Rhinebeck in 2009. I’ve already used some of it to make a Riverbanks Hood, so these will match. They also match my coral-coloured rain jacket. These were very quick to knit, even for a slow knitter like me. I’ve come to love fingerless mitts for those in-between seasons, and even indoors when it’s chilly. This pair has a little lace and texture, with a simple picot edging.

Pattern: Suzie’s Reading Mitts, by Dancing Ewe Yarns (a free pattern that seems to no longer be available – which is why it’s wise to download those freebies when you first see them!)

Yarn: Four Play from Brooks Farm Yarn, a 50/50 wool/silk blend in colour M6

Needle size: 3.75 mm

Started on December 11/11, finished on December 17/11.

A lace shawl:

Live oak shawl

I knit this up for a friend. I’m so pleased with it that I might just make another one for myself (I think I’ve got enough yarn for a smaller version). I love lace knitting, and shawls. I like different shapes of shawls, and this one was a nice change from the usual triangle or rectangle. It’s more like an isosceles trapezoid, with the increases done along two lines instead of one, as in a triangular shawl. The shape drapes nicely across the shoulders and doesn’t need a shawl pin to stay in place. Here it is being blocked:

Live oak shawl blocking

Pattern: Live Oak Shawlette, by Rosemarie (Romi) Hall, from Knitscene Magazine, Fall 2011. I made this larger by knitting two repeats of chart A, then one of chart B.

Yarn: Kicking Horse Sock from Rocky Mountain Dyeworks, a blend of merino and bamboo rayon, in colour One-Eyed Sphynx.

Needle size: 3.5 mm

Started on October 10/11, finished on November 24/11.

I have quite a lot of fingering weight yarn that’s been hand dyed. Much of it is variegated or multicoloured – some self-striping, some more random. I’m finding that I most like the sort that has very short colour runs and knits up mottled, like in the shawl and socks shown above. I’m far less fond of the random pooling that can happen with medium-length runs of colour in socks and shawls. I’m happy with the mitts, though. The pooling turned out very nice and stripy, instead of blotchy.

I have a few other works-in-progress. One is a sweater, another is another pair of socks. There’s also a shawl that’s been sitting in time-out for a while, while I decide whether I really want to tackle knitting nupps. I think I do, but we’ll see. My first try wasn’t very successful and I ripped it back to a lifeline and haven’t yet picked it up to try again. I probably will – I don’t usually give up easily!

One thought on “Yes, I’m Still Knitting

Leave a Reply

