Imbas Socks At Last!

I finally finished knitting my pair of Imbas socks, full of lovely Celtic cables. They would have made for a perfect St. Patrick’s Day post, but somehow March just slipped by me. Oh well, that doesn’t diminish my happiness at getting these socks off the needles and onto my feet.

This pattern was designed by the Tsarina of Tsocks, aka Lisa Grossman. I picked up the kit at the Sheep and Wool Festival in Rhinebeck, NY, back in 2009. I finally started them in January of 2010, and they spent the following couple of years being picked up and put down again. I finished them in March of 2012, in a burst of effort to finish off some unfinished projects.

Here they are:

Imbas-socks_0007

I’m pretty happy with how they turned out. For one thing, they fit (always a good thing). For another, I managed to do the top cuff overlays in spite of really struggling with them at first.

Imbas-socks_0016

This is a toe-up sock, with a short-row toe and heel. There were a few new-to-me techniques in the pattern, plus charts for the cable sections. I think that’s part of why I kept putting them down. I usually have socks as my travel knitting, so most of the time I pick patterns that are a balance of interest and simplicity. These ones weren’t suitable for travel knitting at all, at least not for me. They required a level of concentration best reserved for at-home knitting. But I was working on other things at home, so the socks languished.

There is a downside to letting a project linger for a long time. Somehow the socks ended up being slightly different sizes. My best guess is that I changed needle sizes from one sock to the next. I’m a pretty consistent knitter, so it’s hard to believe that my gauge changed that much over time. See how much difference there is?

Imbas-socks_0014

The sock on the right was the first one I knit. It’s noticeably longer and wider. Fortunately, it still fits.

The details:

Pattern: Imbas, by Lisa Grossman

Yarn: Flocksock sock yarn from Holiday Yarns in colour Leaves of Grass

Needle size: 2.5 mm (I think sock 1 might have been 2.75 mm) double pointed needles

Started: January 26, 2010, Finished: March 3, 2012

One thought on “Imbas Socks At Last!

Leave a Reply

