Where Has the Summer Gone?

So, the sewing room sorting and decluttering that I wrote about in my last post have been continuing since then. It’s almost finished now, with just a few things left to sort through. I’ve got most things back in the room, or in alternative storage spots, and I’m very happy with how it has worked out so far. I’ll post an update with photos when it’s all finished.

In the meantime, I have been doing all sorts of things. I finished knitting a pair of socks:

stripey-blotchy-socks_0007

I participated once again in the Tour de Fleece. I finished spinning the lovely blue Polwarth that I had started spinning in 2011’s Tour, and made some good progress on the Merino/Tencel blend.

TDF12-finish-line_03

Shortly after the Tour ended, the Ravellenic Games started on Ravelry. I joined the team from the Completely Pointless and Arbitrary Group, and entered into the WIPs Wrestling event. The WIP I chose to wrestle was a shawl I’d started way back in September of 2009 (details below). I had become so frustrated with trying to learn how to knit nupps that I’d put it away for years. I didn’t manage to finish it before the end of the closing ceremonies of the London Olympic Games, but I did make a lot of progress and hope to finish it soon.

Triangular-Summer-Shawl_05

In addition to these crafty things, I also did a lot of very tiring garden work, and spent some time helping my husband with a large project to fix up the garage.

Now I find myself itching to get back to quilting. I have a number of projects on the go, both traditional and arty, that I hope to get back to soon. I also have some ideas for new things I’d like to start on. As the summer winds down and fall approaches, my thoughts turn to getting back to a normal routine, including more creative time (and more blogging!).

Some details on the above projects:

Stripy Blotchy Socks:

Pattern: These are simple socks in stockinette, with an afterthought heel that I took from the Crystal Socklet pattern in the Spring and Summer 2012 issue of Knitty. It’s the first time I’ve knit an afterthought heel, which is worked after the main sock is finished. The benefit of knitting the sock this way is that the stripes in the self-striping yarn are not interrupted by working a typical heel as the sock is being knit. I like the crystal heel a lot, and will definitely use it again. It offers the extra room I seem to need to allow for my high instep.

Yarn: On Your Toes 4 Ply with Aloe Vera, by S.R. Kertzer (a self-striping fingering weight yarn)

Needle size: 2.25 mm

Spinning:

Polwarth: 115g of hand-dyed roving from Sheep and Spindle, which yielded about 157 m of 2-ply at about a sport weight.

Merino/Tencel: 113g of hand-dyed roving from Fiber Optic Yarns, in colourway Ruby Slippers Batik.

Triangular Summer Shawl:

Pattern: Triangular Summer Shawl, by Nancy Bush, from Knitted Lace of Estonia. More about nupps here. YouTube video with tips on knitting nupps here.

Yarn: Sliver Moon Farm lace weight merino in colourway Eh, What?

Needle size: 3.5 mm

Leave a Reply

