Quilting the Sampler Quilt Blocks – Part 2

This post covers the quilting of the second half of the blocks in my sampler quilt. You’ll find the first half of the blocks in my previous post.

First up is the Baby Blocks block. This block is a bit different than the other blocks in that the lines are on 60 degree angles instead of 45 or 90 degrees. It’s also the only block that was pieced first and then appliquéd onto a background. I decided to emphasize the angularity of the blocks by quilting a grid of lines at the same angles as the lines of the blocks. The quilting lines are roughly one inch apart.

Baby-Blocks-13

The Peace and Plenty block is all about angles, too. I like the pinwheel effect of the triangles, and I thought that concentric square quilting lines would emphasize the feeling of a pinwheel spinning around. The lines on this one are also approximately one inch apart.

Peace-and-Plenty-block-11

These Bow Tie blocks were a little bit tricky due to the 3-D effect at the centre of each one. I didn’t want to stitch that down, so instead I quilted around it. Then I stitched straight lines on the diagonal. Once again, the lines are about one inch apart, with minor adjustments to avoid stitching in the ditch. I like the way that the lines emphasize the bow ties.

Bow-Tie-blocks-22

For the Steps to the Alter block I decided to emphasize the strong diagonal lines already present in the block by stitching a series of straight diagonal lines. Once again, these lines are about one inch apart, with a small adjustment to avoid stitching in the ditch.

Steps-to-the-Alter-block_15

Those are all of the pieced blocks in the quilt, but there are also two strips of the main print fabric and a square of one of the secondary fabrics that needed quilting. For the latter, I repeated the same square spiral quilting that I used in the Log Cabin blocks, because that square was next in line on the diagonal that they create.

Fabric-Square_60

For the two strips of the main print fabric I stitched a simple Greek Key design along their length. I thought that worked well with the horizontal and vertical lines created by the print. To do that stitching, I drew out the design on strips of Golden Threads Quilting Paper, and pinned it to the fabric. I stitched along the lines using free-motion quilting, then tore the paper away.

Fabric-Strip-35

Fabric-Strip-44

Fabric-Strip-52

That completed the quilting on the blocks. In my next post I’ll show you what I did to quilt the background fabric that comprises the sashing and borders.

Some details:

Thread used for quilting the blocks is Mettler Poly Sheen Multi in colour 9938 on top and colour 9302 in the bobbin.

Related posts:

Planning the Layout of a Sampler Quilt

The Sampler Quilt – All Together Now

Pieced Back for the Sampler Quilt

Quilting the Sampler Quilt Blocks – Part 1

 

Leave a Reply

